My Beatboxing Story

As many of you may know, I am a beatboxer. I have been beatboxing for a little over 1 year now but it all started with a beginning.

December 31, 2015: I decided to try and do an all nighter for New Year’s Eve. That clearly didn’t work out however, I was watching videos on beatboxing. I don’t know what got me the urge to watch them but I did. The main ones that I remember watching were from the 2012 Beatbox Battle World Championship. A few memorable videos were krNfx vs Alem, Skiller vs Alem and Shawn Lee vs K.I.M. At that moment, I had the urge to learn how to beatbox. It just seemed so fascinating to me and I wanted to try and learn.

The next day, I started learning. The first sound I remember learning was the kick drum. I used several different tutorials for the basics. The first one was krNfx’s playlist on Maker Music and the second was SoCloseToToast’s playlist. Links to both of those below.

Up until that point, I never had any sort of motivation to continue doing something for a long period of time. I never excelled at anything on a community basis except for playing The Trumpet and my academics until grade 6, which is when my grades started to fall off the face of the Earth. I was really motivated to learn and I think the reason why was the drive to be the best, at least at my school. It would seem pretty hard to beat out 800+ other students but considering the fact that not everyone beatboxes, it would be pretty easy to.

My first post of beatboxing was posted on my birthday, January 27, 2016. A link to that will be posted below. It’s really bad in my opinion since I have improved from “just” the drumkit to basses, click rolls, and other sounds. I still keep those basic sounds with me in my beats but I also use more advanced sounds compared to the simpler ones to make a distinct style.

UGLY FACE BELOW. PLEASE PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BBDpYB6pe3n/?taken-by=deltabbx

Yes. That is my ugly face. FACE REVEAL. All silly jokes aside, if you look at the comments of my older posts, you will notice a lot of hate. One of the comments on this post is from a person I used to go to school with. He started to cyber bully me after he left my school. I fought back here however I have changed since and haven’t responded to as many hate comments.

I have done a few battles before but none of them were serious. I have gotten crushed a few times but that’s part of the learning process. Lose, learn what you did wrong, improve for next time.

I also have a Discord Server that I host that’s meant for beatboxing. Please join. I’m trying to grow the server more. I have been rather inactive but I plan to do a jam session on my birthday. so please join. The link will be below.

https://discord.gg/T6f6F3c

Other than that, thank you for reading.

Author: deltabbx

I am a 17-year-old male beatboxer. I hail from Toronto and I have several interests such as gaming, speeches, and of course, beatboxing.

Leave a comment