My Biggest Performance

This moment was by far my biggest performance I had ever done in my 1 year of beatboxing.

December 23, 2016:

It wasn’t just any school day. It was my school Christmas Assembly. We had a good turn up that day and I was barely squished in last minute by the Grade 12s running it. (Thanks for making my life a pain. First I have to worry about it, then I don’t have to worry about it then I do, like please show me some mercy). Anyways, I was put back in last minute as they finally found a way to put me in. We had a rehearsal earlier that morning and that went fine as I got through my whole 15 seconds of walking across from stage left to stage right.

Around 10:00 AM is when the assembly started and I went on at about 11:30 AM (somewhere around that time). My part was earlier than expected since a lot of videos that were supposed to be playing were cut out due to technical difficulties. With a microphone in my right hand and a crowd of 800 students waiting for me not knowing what was going to happen, there was only one thing left to do.

“Don’t be afraid of other beatboxers. Take the mic. Perform.” -Alem

This is a quote from the winner of the 4th annual Beatbox Battle World Championship, Alem. Instead of other beatboxers, it was my school.

I walked on stage and as soon as I took my first step, it went from casual conversations between friends to people cheering my name. It was probably the scariest moment of my life but it was only for 15 seconds. After that, the crowd went silent.

Below is the cover of Jingle Bell Rock that I performed with a bit of variation on it. It’s basically the same for the most part.

Alem’s quote says it pretty well. Just take the mic and perform. That’s what I did and you can do the same.

Thank you for reading.

Author: deltabbx

I am a 16-year-old male beatboxer. I hail from Toronto and I have several interests such as gaming, speeches, and of course, beatboxing.

Leave a Reply

